African American

Page: 2

  The Commissioner Steve Stoute has stepped into the publishing game with the announcement of his upcoming book  The Tanning of America: How Hip-Hop Created a Culture That Rewrote the Rules of the New Economy. The book, publishing on September 8th through Gotham Books, focuses on how Hip Hop has changed the economic terrain in […]

 

I have been hard on Mr. Tyler Perry for a while now. In fact I still refuse to see anything with a Madea in it. Movies, plays, trailers, whathaveyou. But that is because of my own problems and the law I have that no man should be caught in a dress period!!! I haven’t seen […]

One of the highlights across HBCU’s across the country is when new members cross over. Usually the yard is packed and the atmosphere is thick with anticipation of who made it. Alpha Phi Alpha member John Ledbetter recently posted video of the Spring 2011 probate show. This film is accompanied by the beautiful music of […]

Apparently there are more African-American men in jail than there were enslaved!! What type of madness is that? “More African American men are in prison or jail, on probation or parole than were enslaved in 1850, before the Civil War began,” Michelle Alexander told a standing room only house at the Pasadena Main Library this […]

UML could not forget such an important filmmaker on his special day…drop us a note and name your poison…the first one’s on us 😉

  Washington! Who would have guessed? We would have put our money on Jackson. In a puzzling twist, most of these people are black. The 2000 U.S. Census counted 163,036 people with the surname Washington. Ninety percent of them were African-American, a far higher black percentage than for any other common name. The story of […]

…but because it’s Mogul-esque 😉 One of the most intelligent services in American history was provided by this little green book. I’m thinkin’ a little orange book could do the same for Urban Moguls…hmmm… The Negro Motorist Green Book was a publication released in 1936 that served as a guide for African-American travelers. Because of […]

The contributions of blacks in the field of science have been a missing chapter in the narrative of America’s scientific and technological advancement. From the beginning, African Americans were part of America’s scientific endeavors: Benjamin Banneker produced the blueprint for Washington DC; Norbert Rillieau, chemical engineer, revolutionized the sugar industry by building a refining system; […]

This is what happens when you combine two internet sensations. Willow Smith provides the music, while Sesame Street gives us the visuals. Thanks to Mec Jagger for actually putting the two together. Maybe this will lead Willow to actually going to Sesame Street and performing with Elmo?

Fans of American History and African-American History may enjoy this new, illustrated, 622p. Random House publication.  The new book by Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns, chronicles the migration of over 6 million African-Americans from the deep south from 1915-1970.  Click the image for the full review…

If so…Uncle Sam Wants You!! At one point, the really smart people in this country debated whether or not “Ebonics” was a real dialect or not.  Apparently the government has decided it’s real enough to hire 9 Ebonics Translators to work for the DEA …does Obama know about this?!?! I’ll do you the favorof NOT […]

I’ve been working with youth for about 15 years now…and I’ve been swearin’ up and down that something just isn’t right.  You walk into a room full of 5th graders and swear you’re in the club…the only thing missin’ is a DJ and disco ball.  Some people say it’s my imagination…some people say it’s the […]

We have seen the housing bubble burst, we saw the collapse of Wall Street and our banking system, now we need to look at the problems facing students who accumulate debts. With the rising costs of tuition at our universities and colleges, many students leave school with debt that equals a small house. Too many […]

[vodpod id=Groupvideo.4582066&w=425&h=350&fv=]  !!!!WARNING IF YOU ARE AT WORK YOU MAY NOT WANT TO CLICK THE VIDEO, IT CONTAINS FULL NUDITY!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! I DON’T WANT A FEW MOGULS TO LOSE THEIR JOB VIEWING THIS!!!  I am not a follower of PETA, so I don’t really know if this is regular behavior from them. […]


[There are no radio stations in the database]